Rebecca G. Aguilar | Writer


2016 Sibert Medal and YALSA Nonfiction Award Winners

Posted by Rebecca G. Aguilar, M.Ed. on January 12, 2016

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal

Funny Bones: Posada and His Day of the Dead Calaveras
By Duncan Tonatiuh
ISBN-13: 9781419716478
Publisher: Abrams Books for Young Readers
Publication date: 8/25/2015
Pages: 40

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

Most Dangerous: Daniel Ellsberg and the Secret History of the Vietnam War
By Steve Sheinkin
ISBN-13: 9781596439528
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication date: 9/22/2015
Pages: 384

Congratulations to Funny Bones written and illustrated by Duncan Tonatiuh (Abrams Books for Young Readers) and Most Dangerous written by Steve Sheinkin (Roaring Brook Press). These distinguished books of nonfiction are recipients of the 2016 Sibert Medal and YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award.

Nonfiction dominated several honor and medal categories, including the Caldecott, at the 2016 Youth Media Awards announcement Monday during the American Library Association (ALA) Midwinter Meeting in Boston.

The Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children was awarded to Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear illustrated by Sophie Blackall, written by Lindsay Mattick and published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers.

The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal is awarded every year to the author and illustrator of the most distinguished informational book published in the United States. Four Sibert Honor Books were named:

Drowned City: Hurricane Katrina and New Orleans, written and illustrated by Don Brown and published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

The Boys Who Challenged Hitler: Knud Pedersen and the Churchill Club, written by Phillip Hoose and published by Farrar Straus Giroux Books for Young Readers.

Turning 15 on the Road to Freedom: My Story of the 1965 Selma Voting Rights March, written by Lynda Blackmon Lowery as told to Elspeth Leacock and Susan Buckley, illustrated by PJ Loughran and published by Dial Books.

Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement, written by Carole Boston Weatherford, illustrated by Ekua Holmes and published by Candlewick Press.

The YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18). Four other books were finalists for the YALSA Award for Nonfiction:

Four other books were finalists for the YALSA Award for Nonfiction:

Enchanted Air: Two Cultures, Two Wings: A Memoir, written by Margarita Engle and published by Atheneum Books for Young Readers.

First Flight Around the World: The Adventures of the American Fliers Who Won the Race, written by Tim Grove and published by Abrams Books for Young Readers.

Symphony for the City of the Dead: Dmitri Shostakovich and the Siege of Leningrad, written by M.T. Anderson and published by Candlewick Press.

This Strange Wilderness: The Life and Art of John James Audubon, written by Nancy Plain and published by University of Nebraska Press.

The John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature was awarded to picture book Last Stop On Market Street written by Matt de la Peña, illustrated by Christian Robinson and published by G. P. Putnam’s Sons. The Newbery emphasizes story, which made this year’s win a surprise. Most award winners in the past have been novels, not picture books.

For a complete list of the 2016 ALA Youth Media Awards, please visit the American Library Association.

Category: Nonfiction, 2016 YMA

Copyright © 2014-2017 Rebecca G. Aguilar. All Rights Reserved.