Rebecca G. Aguilar | Writer


2017 ALA Youth Media Awards | Nonfiction

Posted by Rebecca G. Aguilar, M.Ed. on January 23, 2017

March: Book Three

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

March: Book Three
By John Lewis and Andrew Aydin; Art By Nate Powell
ISBN-13: 9781603094023
Publisher: Top Shelf Productions
Publication date: 8/2/2016
Pages: 256

Congratulations to March: Book Three written by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin and illustrated by Nate Powell. This groundbreaking biography in graphic novel format published by Top Shelf Productions (an imprint of IDW Publishing) is the recipient of the 2017 Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal and YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults.

Following John Lewis and fellow activists through nonviolent protests from 1963 to 1965, March: Book Three also won the Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award and the Michael L. Printz Award.

Biography dominated several medal and honor and categories, including the Caldecott, Monday at the 2017 Youth Media Awards announcement during the American Library Association (ALA) Midwinter Meeting in Atlanta.

The Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children was awarded to Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat, written and illustrated by Javaka Steptoe and published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. Radiant Child also won the Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award.

The Schneider Family Book Award for a book that embodies the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences was won by Six Dots: A Story of Young Louis Braille, written by Jen Bryant, illustrated by Boris Kulikov and published by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers.

The Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Children’s Video was awarded to Drum Dream Girl: How one Girl’s Courage Changed Music, produced by Ryan Swenar and published by Dreamscape Media.

The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal is awarded every year to the author and illustrator of the most distinguished informational book published in the United States. Four Sibert Honor Books were named:

Giant Squid, written by Candace Fleming, illustrated by Eric Rohmann and published by Roaring Brook Press.

Sachiko: A Nagasaki Bomb Survivor’s Story, written by Caren Stelson and published by Carolrhoda Books.

Uprooted: The Japanese American Experience During World War II, written by Albert Marrin and published by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers.

We Will Not Be Silent: The White Rose Student Resistance Movement That Defied Adolf Hitler, written by Russell Freedman and published by Clarion Books.

The YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18). Four other books were finalists for the YALSA Award for Nonfiction:

Hillary Rodham Clinton: A Woman Living History, Karen Blumenthal and published by Feiwel and Friends.

In the Shadow of Liberty: The Hidden History of Slavery, Four Presidents, and Five Black Lives, written by Kenneth C. Davis and published by Henry Holt.

Samurai Rising: The Epic Life of Minamoto Yoshitsune, written by Pamela S. Turner, illustrated by Gareth Hinds and published by Charlesbridge.

This Land Is Our Land: A History of American Immigration, written by Linda Barrett Osborne and published by Abrams Books for Young Readers.

The final announcement of Monday morning was the highly anticipated John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature, awarded to the epic fantasy novel The Girl Who Drank the Moon, written by Kelly Barnhill and published by Algonquin Young Readers.

For a complete list of the 2017 ALA Youth Media Awards, please visit the American Library Association.

Category: Nonfiction, 2017 YMA

Copyright © 2014-2017 Rebecca G. Aguilar. All Rights Reserved.